Nautica South Beach Triathlon 2010


3 months ago when I was flying back from my vacation in India I was sitting on the plane pondering life, reading Men’s Health and realizing that I needed discipline in my life, so I thought it would be a great idea to sign up for the  South Beach Triathlon in Miami!! When I look back at the grueling 3-4 months of training & the actual triathlon itself, I can’t remember if anything has ever tested my physical & mental toughness to this level.  I also believe that this is one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life and have never received so much support from family & friends, which I think ultimately gave me the strength to finish the race.  It also didn’t hurt that I bet my friend William “J Dubb” Smith that I would beat him ( he beat me!!!).

The most interesting observation of the event was that a majority of the people I met were guys that recently turned 30 or were about to turn 30 (like myself) and were facing what I like to call Thirty-Life Crisis.  If you are at that age you know what I am talking about, if you aren’t you will experience it soon.

A quick summary of the event was that the swim was our biggest worry, it was definitely as advertised with very intimidating open waters and aggressive swimmers.  The bike proved to be the toughest physically, with a grueling 19 mile bike ride filled with 8 hills throughout the greater Miami Beach area.  I definitely was under prepared for the bike ride, which ultimately affected my run because my legs were numb by the time I had started the run. At the end of it all, we both finished, got medals, had the biggest grins, and checked something off our bucket list.
Final times: Dee Murthy 2 hrs 33 min, William Smith 2 hrs 16 min

DSC04738 Our Bib Numbers
DSC04741
Paul Mitchell giving people haircuts, WTF??
DSC04742 DSC04743 DSC04744 DSC04745
It’s all about the shoes MONEY!
DSC04748 DSC04750 DSC04754 Race Day Outfit!
DSC04755
Pre-game pics at 530 AM, in South Beach!
DSC04756 DSC04757
Transition Area
DSC04760
Medalists!
DSC04759 DSC04761 DSC04762 Championship Lunch at Prime Italian, best Italian food in Miami, Garlic Bread with Marinara, Truffle Mac & Cheese Pizza, Penne ala Vodka.  Ask for Steve!
DSC04763 DSC04765 DSC04766 DSC04768

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

